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An Object At Rest 

Ball at Rest Moved by the Player 

Answers: 

1. False.  Rule 9.4b.  The practice swing was not a stroke at the ball but the player has caused his ball in play to 

move and must add one penalty stroke.  The player is required to replace the ball on the original spot or 

proceed under an applicable Rule.    

2. True.  Rule 13.1d.  When a player accidentally causes his ball to move on the putting green there is no 

penalty.  As noted in answer #1, a practice swing is not a stroke at the ball and the player must replace the 

ball on the original spot with no penalty.  These first two questions are purposely similar to highlight how 

different an incident on the putting green is treated as opposed to the general area of the course. 

3. False.  Rules 9.4a and 14.2.  The player gets one penalty stroke for causing her ball in play to move.  

However, under the new Rules, when the original location of a ball that must be replaced is unknown it 

must be estimated and the ball replaced on the estimated spot. 

4. True.  Rule 9.1b Exception 2 and Rule 7.4.  A player may take reasonable actions to find and identify a ball, 

and if the ball moves, there is no penalty.  The ball must be replaced on the original spot which if unknown 

must be estimated.  If the ball had been deep in tall grass, to properly replace on the original or an 

estimated spot, it must be replaced deep in the grass.   

5. True.  Rules 9.4b Exception 4 and Rule 15.2a.  Provided the player uses reasonable actions when removing 

the rake, there is no penalty for causing the ball to move.  The ball must be replaced on the original spot. 

6. False.  Rule 9.4b Exception 4.  When a player is using reasonable actions to determine whether relief is 

available, or where the nearest point of complete relief is located, if the ball is accidentally moved, there is 

no penalty and the player must replace the ball or take the relief if desired. 

7. False.  Rule 9.2b(2).  The player is only considered to have moved her ball and incurred a penalty if it is 

known or virtually certain that she caused it to move.  In this case, since the movement of the ball didn’t 

occur immediately and the practice swings were some distance away from the ball, it is not virtually certain 

that she caused the ball to move.  Therefore, the ball is treated as having been moved by natural forces and 

must be played from its new location.  Virtually certain is now defined as 95% likely that the event in 

question happened.   

8. True.  Rule 13.1d(1) and 9.4b Exception 3.  When a ball is accidentally moved by the player on the putting 

green, there is no penalty no matter how it happens.  However, accidentally forgetting to mark the spot of 

the ball before lifting it would not fall under this exception and the player would get one penalty stroke.   

9. True.  Rule 9.4.  When a player is allowed to mark and lift his ball, there is no penalty for accidentally 

causing it to move while doing so, provided he was using reasonable actions to apply the Rule. 

10. True.  Rule 6.3b.  The permission to substitute a ball has been greatly expanded in the new Rules.  But 

when a player is required to replace a ball on a spot, such as when the ball has been lifted or the player 

caused it to move, the player is not allowed to substitute a ball and must replace the original ball.   

 


