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Answers: 

1. False.  Rule 14.3.  Previously, a player was required to drop the ball from shoulder height and at arm’s length away 

from the body while standing erect.  All of the requirements pertaining to the posture of the player have been 

removed and the ball must simply be dropped from knee height of the player, measured when standing.  This does 

not require the player to be standing when dropping the ball.  It is just a measurement of the distance the ball must 

fall.   

2. True.  Rule 14.5.  When a ball has been dropped in a wrong way, the player may lift the ball and correct the error.  

However, this is allowed only before the ball is played.  If the player played the ball from the relief area without 

correcting the improper drop, the player would get one penalty stroke as it is too late to correct the error. 

3. True.  Rule 6.3b.  Allowing the player to substitute a ball whenever dropping will greatly reduce confusion on the 

course.  Previously, the player wasn’t allowed to substitute a ball when dropping under certain Rules.  Now a different 

ball may be used for every drop.  Even when a dropped ball has come to rest outside the relief area and must be re-

dropped. 

4. True.  See definition of Relief Area.  Every relief Rule option, whether free relief or penalty relief, will have a reference 

point of which the relief area will be measured from.  Generally, the relief area will be one club-length.  However, 

there are two times when the relief area will be measured using two club-lengths.  See question #10 for further 

explanation. 

5. True.  Rule 14.3. The ball must hit the ground in the relief area and come to rest in the same relief area.  The 

requirement to measure if the ball rolled more than two club-lengths from where it hit the ground has been removed 

and the ball simply must come to rest in the relief area as measured.  Keep in mind that the likelihood that a ball will 

roll far enough to require a re-drop has been greatly reduced by the fact that the drop is only from knee height. 

6. False.  As stated in the answer to question #5, a player is never required to measure if the ball rolled more than two 

club-lengths from where it hit the ground when dropped.  Under the Local Rule for dropping zones (DZ), the ball must 

be dropped in and come to rest in the DZ, as the entire DZ is the relief area. 

7. False.  Rule 14.3c.  If a dropped ball accidentally hits any person, equipment or any other outside influence after it hits 

the ground, there is no penalty and the ball is played as it lies provided it has come to rest in the relief area.  If the 

dropped ball was deliberately touched by the player, he or she gets the general penalty, which is two penalty strokes 

in stroke play.   

8. False.  Rule 14.3c(2).  When a correctly dropped ball comes to rest outside the relief area, the player must drop a ball 

again in the same relief area.  If the second dropped ball also comes to rest outside the relief area, the player is 

required to place a ball on the spot where the second drop hit the ground.  The player may not continue to drop an 

unlimited number of times.  This procedure is commonly referred to as the “drop, drop, place” procedure.  One major 

change this year is that the player may change balls with each drop and even when placing the ball in this scenario. 

9. True.  Previously, certain Rules required a player to drop as near as possible to a specific spot, such as when the 

player was taking relief for an embedded ball.  Now that a reference point is used to measure a relief area, the 

requirement to drop as near as possible to a spot has been removed.  For instance, when taking relief for an 

embedded ball, the reference point is a spot directly behind the ball and the player is required to drop within one 

club-length of that spot but no closer to the hole.   

10. True.  Rules 17 and 19.  While almost every relief area will be measured with one club-length, there are two 

exceptions and both come with one penalty stroke.  The first is when a player takes lateral relief for a ball that is in a 

red penalty area, the reference point is where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area and the player is 

allowed to drop a ball within two club-lengths of that spot and not nearer the hole than that spot.  The second is if a 

player has decided to treat his or her ball as unplayable and chooses the option to drop a ball within two club-lengths 

of the reference point but not nearer the hole.  In this case, the reference point is the spot of the original ball. 


