Rule of the Month June 1, 2019

Hazard a Guess?

Ball at Rest Moved Other Than by the Player
Answers:

True. Rules 2.2c and 17.1a. If any part of the ball touches a penalty area, it is treated as lying in the penalty
area. This is true no matter which part of the course the rest of the ball lies in.
False. Rule 17.1b. The new Rules allow a player to do some things in a penalty area that were previously prohibited,
and grounding the club and taking practice swings in a penalty area are two actions that are now permitted.
False. Rule 15.1a. As stated above in answer #2, a player may do everything allowed in the general area of the
course including removing loose impediments. The player should use caution when doing so near the ball as
causing the ball to move when removing the loose impediment will result in a penalty.
True. Rule 17.1c. In order for a player to proceed with relief from a penalty area, the player must have
knowledge or virtual certainty that the ball is in the penalty area. Virtual certainty is defined as 95% likely that
the ball is in the penalty area. If the player doesn’t have knowledge or virtual certainty that the ball is in the
penalty area, the ball is considered lost and the player must play under stroke and distance from where the
previous stroke was made.
True. Rule 17.1d(1). A player may, at any time, play from where the previous stroke was made. This option
comes with a one stroke penalty and Rule 14 explains how the ball must be put into play.
True. Rule 17.1d(2). This option gives the player the opportunity to select the distance which he or she will play
from. Keeping the hole in line with where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area and backing up on
this line as far as the player wishes. A reference point is then selected and the player must drop within one club-
length of this spot, but not closer to the hole. This option allows the player’s relief area to be in any area of the
course except the same penalty area from which relief is being taken.
False. Rule 17.1d(3). The option allowing a player to drop within two club-lengths of where the ball last crossed
the edge of the penalty area is available only when the ball is in a red penalty area.
True. Rule 17.1d(2) and (3). Both of these options require the player to take relief outside the penalty area.
After dropping a ball outside the penalty area, the player may play the ball, without further penalty, even if the
penalty area interferes with the player’s stance or swing.
False. Rule 16.1a(2) When a ball is in a penalty area, the player is not allowed relief for an abnormal course
condition including an animal hole, temporary water or an immovable obstruction.

. False. Rule 16.3a(1). Similar to answer #9. When a ball is embedded in a penalty area, the player must play it as
it lies or take penalty relief under Rule 17. Free relief for an embedded ball is not available.
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