Lateral Water Hazards, Rule 26, November 2014 Rule of the Month
TEST YOUR RULES KNOWLEDGE - TRUE OR FALSE
QUESTIONS
- In taking relief for a ball in a lateral water hazard, the player keeps the flag in line with where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard and drops a ball. However, she drops the ball in another hazard and incurs an additional penalty of two strokes if she plays from there.
- A player taking relief under Rule 26 for a lateral water hazard may always substitute a ball even if the original ball is easily retrievable.
- After measuring two club-lengths from where his ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, the player drops a ball within the prescribed area. The ball rolls toward the hole but comes to rest further from the hole than where it last crossed the margin. He must re-drop the ball since it rolled toward the hole after the drop.
- Part of a pond is marked as a lateral water hazard (red) and another part is marked as a water hazard (yellow). The player’s ball last crosses the margin where it is marked as a lateral water hazard but comes to rest in the area where it is marked as a water hazard. The ball is deemed to lie in the water hazard and the player may not proceed under any of the additional options for lateral water hazard relief.
- One option under Rule 26 for a ball in a lateral water hazard is to drop a ball behind the hazard keeping the flag in line with where the ball lies in the hazard.
- A player’s ball enters a lateral water hazard 80 yards from the hole. She drops a ball within two club-lengths of a spot on the opposite margin of the hazard which is also 80 yards from the hole. She has proceeded properly and incurs only the one stroke penalty for lateral water hazard relief.
- In order to save time, a player may play a provisional ball if he believes his ball may be lost in a lateral water hazard.
- When taking relief under Rule 26-1c for a ball in a lateral water hazard the player may measure the two club-lengths with any club including a long putter.
- The player hits her ball towards an area of deep rough and a lateral water hazard. She is not able to find the ball and is unsure where the ball came to rest. She may not proceed under the lateral water hazard rule unless she is virtually certain the ball is in the hazard.
- In stroke play, a player finds his ball in a lateral water hazard. He declares it unplayable and drops a ball in the hazard within two club-lengths of where the ball lies. He makes a stroke at the ball. He incurs only the one stroke penalty for declaring his ball unplayable.
ANSWERS
- False. Rule 26 requires, only, that the ball must be dropped outside of the hazard. Therefore, a player may drop in another water hazard, lateral water hazard or even a bunker if so desired. Careful attention should be used to ensure that the player is not simply dropping into another part of the same water hazard. In that case, the player would incur a penalty of loss of hole in Match Play or two strokes in Stroke Play for playing from a wrong place.
- True. A player may always substitute a ball when proceeding under Rule 26. The Rule itself states that the player is allowed to use a ball when proceeding and the last sentence of Rule 26-1 gives the player the options of lifting and cleaning their ball or substituting a ball.
- False. It is a common misconception that if a dropped ball rolls towards the hole it must be redropped. A dropped ball may always roll toward the hole provided it has come to rest in a position where Rule 20-2c would not require a re-drop or placement. In this case, if the ball rolled closer to the hole than the spot where it last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard the player would be required to re-drop the ball under Rule 20-2c.
- False. Relief is determined by reference to where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard. Since this ball has entered the area of the hazard where it is marked as a lateral water hazard, even though it lies in the area marked as a water hazard, the player may take relief for a ball in a lateral water hazard.
- False. While the straight line option of Rule 26 is still available for a ball in a lateral water hazard, the reference point is not where the ball lies in the hazard. The correct reference point, when using this option, is where the ball last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard. This also insures that the ball will be dropped outside of the hazard as required by the Rule.
- True. This is a seldom used option but should be familiar to every golfer. In many cases it may allow a golfer to proceed without requiring them to play over the hazard. To utilize this option, determine the distance to the hole where the ball last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard and crossing over the hazard determine a spot on the opposite margin equidistant. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of this spot no closer to the hole. It is important to note that this option is only available when the ball lies in a lateral water hazard (red).
- False. A player may not play a provisional ball solely because he believes his ball is lost in a lateral water hazard. To do so would render the original ball lost and the second ball would become the ball in play under stroke and distance. A provisional ball may be played only if the player believes their ball is out of bounds or lost outside of a water hazard. If there was a reasonable possibility that the ball is lost in the rough surrounding the hazard the player is allowed to play a provisional ball as he is unsure where the ball lies. In addition, the player may also play a provisional ball if he was unaware the area was marked as a lateral water hazard. For further information on provisional ball see Rule 27-2.
- True. The player may use any club to measure the drop area and may even borrow a club for measuring provided he drops a ball within a two club-length area that could be reached with one of his own clubs. It is important to note that once a player has used a specific club to measure in a given situation the same club must be used for all subsequent measuring in that situation. For example, if the player measures with his long putter the two club-lengths for the drop area and when the ball is dropped it rolls into a poor lie, he is not allowed to measure with his pitching wedge to determine if the ball rolled more than two club-lengths and must be re-dropped.
- True. When a ball is not found, the player may not assume that it is lost in the lateral water hazard and she must proceed under Rule 27, stroke and distance, for a lost ball. Rule 26 is very specific regarding when a player may use it. She must have knowledge or be virtually certain the ball is in the hazard. Without this knowledge or virtual certainty she may not use the relief options for a ball in a water hazard or lateral water hazard.
- False. A player may not use Rule 28 (Ball Unplayable) when their ball is in a water hazard. If the player chooses not to play the ball as it lies in the hazard his only option for relief is Rule 26. The player in this scenario has played from a wrong place by dropping and playing from within the hazard and incurs an additional penalty of loss of hole in Match Play or two strokes in Stroke Play.
Published / Last Updated On:
11/30/14








